2016 DIY Writer’s Summer Camp

Monday marked the first day of summer, which serendipitously was the first day of summer vacation  (which I spent most of it at work with colleagues moving books & furniture, naturally!) Yesterday was an unwinding day, so today – TODAY! – is the first day of my DIY Writer’s Summer Camp.

For those of you who want to join in, here’s what I’m doing this week:

  • Reading  The Productive Writer by Sage Cohen for help organizing time and space. No, not SPACE the final frontier – my desk and filing spaces will suffice.
  • Working on my boy-meets-robot novel. Happily, I discovered back-up copies of some lost files, including a character I’d excised who solves problems I’ve been having with making the narrator more likeable.
  • Studying Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game for structure; e.g. chapter length and plot points.

 

 

