Frugal frills

In response to my recent post about shabby chic (among other things), my friend Jenny e-mailed me a personal story about flea-marketing New Yorkers. She asked me a fun question: “What are your favorite frugal finds?”

So here they are, in no particular order:

  • Turtlenecks for extra layers of warmth (5 for $5 sale at the Salvation Army store)
  • Pork neck bones from a local butcher, perfect for soup
  • A honing steel. Judging by the deep scratches on one side, the previous owner didn’t know how to use it – not that I blame him/her, since I learned from a DVD of Chef Bill Briwa. I’ve straightened blades on a food processor and a blender, prolonging their usefulness.
  • A carafe with glass liner, a push-button on top to open the valve, and a pencil-pattern going all around it.  Its ’80s style caught my eye at a rummage sale, and I was told it works well for both hot and cold beverages. Does it ever! It’s also easy for a child to use without spilling.
