Secret Recipe: Peanut Sauce for Noodles

One of my not-so-healthy pleasures is a bowl of instant noodles. Not ramen, mind you! Years of low income beat out any taste I had for that, mac’n’cheese, instant potatoes, and canned spinach.

You know the kind that you just add water, drain, then add the packet of peanuts and sauce? Yeah, the one that comes in a Styrofoam bowl! Especially the “Japanese-udon-style” Korean product that contains MSG.

Sadly, my doctor has put a kibosh on salty processed foods. (Note: I’m not really sad. I’m happy to go on living.)

So I did what I usually do. As I was eating my last bowl of peanut-sauce noodles, I perused the ingredients and wrote down those I had at home (or a similar ingredient). Then I experimented and came up with the following Experiment in Culinary Terror:

Peanut Sauce for Noodles 

  • 1/4 tsp. sweetener (1 packet Stevia)
  • 1 Tbsp natural peanut butter (low salt)
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp. seasoned vinegar
  • 1/2 Tbsp. other vinegar (I used Eden Foods red wine vinegar)*
  • 1/2 Tbsp. sesame (or olive) oil
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds (I use white sesame seeds and pan-toast them)
  • 1 tso lemon juice
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp ground ginger
  • Crushed red pepper, to taste

The first batch was a little watery, so I let it chill a bit. It still heated up nicely on hot udon noodles.

I double the recipe when I want some as a soup base.

*You could use 1 Tbsp. of the same vinegar, but I liked the combination. Just don’t mess up and add TWO tablespoons like I did the second time.

2 thoughts on “Secret Recipe: Peanut Sauce for Noodles

  1. We tried this. Heated it up and used a thickening agent. Lots of compliments from the guests. My Better Half says post more experiments in terror. They’re tasty.

Comments are closed.