11th Day of Christmas 2015

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.” – Ebenezer Scrooge, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

When I returned from my hometown to La Casa de Tontería, I started thinking about  returning to the Factory. Anxiety about work is part of everyday life, and I started feeling it in anticipation of my first day back.

Just like snuggling into my familiar bed and quickly falling asleep, I find myself returning to comfortable – if unhelpful – habits.

Everyday concerns are like everyday spills; you wipe them first. Other things – hobbies, relaxation – are like dust bunnies lying unnoticed except when a deep cleaning draws them to light. At leisure, it’s easy to think about Big Things that are lost in the daily grind.  Grind? Grinder? Oh, coffee! *scribbles on list*

 

