10th Day of Christmas 2015

“One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. “Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.” -J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone

Poor Dumbledore. I’d like to take them off his hands. I didn’t get any books as gifts this year, although maybe that’s good. I’ve been working on organizing what I have.

As a bibliophile, I’ve long been captivated by libraries. Many years ago, a friend invited me to a fundraiser at Meadow Brook Hall, a Tudor-revival home.  That was my introduction to a private library (and a gorgeous one at that).

Since then, I’ve seen several home libraries. My least favorite was one in which I asked the owner about a couple books and was told (with mild annoyance) that it wasn’t a reading library. That was my first taste of something my mother told me about: buying books by the yard for decoration. It seems bizarre to display books according to appearance rather than content – literally judging a book by its cover.

My favorite private library belongs to relatives. It’s located just inside the front door in a sort of grand foyer. It has everything: comfortable reading chairs, art and décor collected over years of travel, and good lighting.

But this House of Nonsense is too small for anything so grand. My “library” consists of shelves in different rooms. Tourists tomes – flora and fauna guides, for example – preside in the guest room, but cookbooks stay near the kitchen.

Related Reading

12 Tips for Better Bookshelves 

A recent post at Café Book Bean gave me some ideas about “book nook” construction. Warning: CAPS.

One thought on “10th Day of Christmas 2015

  1. Pingback: The Book Nook is progressing nicely… | The House of Nonsense

Comments are closed.