8th Day of Christmas 2015

For the first day of the New Year 2016, I decided to link to one of the interesting websites I read during my DIY Writer’s Summer Camp: Writing-World.com.

I am a relative newbie at writing fiction, so I had little idea about what attainable goals in writing would look like for me (as opposed to some professional writers whose advice I sought). So the post “Setting Effective Writing Goals” was eye-opening.  Here’s a taste:

And that, perhaps, is the most delightful thing about goals: You can change them. They are not graven in stone. They are not chains, meant to lock you into some sort of writer’s bondage. Quite often, they change themselves before you realize what has happened…. (…) The key is to remember that goals are not your destiny. They are simply highly effective tools that you can use to reach that destiny.

 

