Post-Halloween

La Casa de Tontería weathered Devil’s Night and Halloween well. No eggs on the house! No toilet paper banners in the trees! No soap on the car windows!

I believe it was owing to a combination of play-off football on Friday (our boys won!) and rainy cold Saturday. Very few trick-or-treaters came, leaving me with a surplus of candy.

The weather shifted and hurled the region into pseudo-summer. Tomorrow the temperature will slide into 70 Fahrenheit. With the clocks turned back an hour for Daylight Savings Time, it’s been like waking on a spring morning.

Except the furnace turns on because the nights are chilly. And there’s a plague of ladybugs that crawl over the southern side of the house. Sure, they don’t bite people, but if they get inside the house, in the spring they’ll hatch a new batch and it will be like something from a horror film.

One of the Detroit radio stations has started playing Christmas music. It’s a tradition owing to the fact that Canadians begin their shopping post-Halloween. (Americans have Thanksgiving in a few weeks, so that’s when the frenzy begins.) It may seem horribly early, but here’s a confession:

I’m going Canadian this year.

In this House of Nonsense, the Christmas tree is taken down no later than Día de los Reyes Magos (Epiphany for anglophiles). Last year that meant I had only a couple weeks to enjoy the decorations – I counted 14 evenings exactly – when I wasn’t driving here or carpooling there. I didn’t even open the CD-holder of carols and holiday films.

Not to mention I left the nacimiento (creche or manger) and the Advent wreath in their boxes.

So this year I want to enjoy the anticipation and the culmination equally.

I’m not alone. I noticed this evening that one of the neighbors swapped out the Halloween lights for hanging globes that look like ice. They have three little boys, so I imagine this is a good idea for their parents.

 

