Rain, rain, go…. right here!

When it rains – even with accompanying lightning –  I’m very happy. It’s been so dry that I started carrying buckets of water to certain plants, such as the rhubarb and hydrangea.

On the other hand, the dryness made the heat bearable. Last week was in the mid-90s again, but it felt cooler than previous humid days. Plus the mosquito population died back.

I should mention I live in an extremely humid region, a marshland bordered by a river. I’m not native to The Swamp – as my colleagues call it affectionately – but I learned a few things quickly:

  • Cardboard storage boxes are pointless. They absorb moisture whether they’re in the attack attic or shed. Sometimes they fall apart in your hands even if they don’t look rotty. Sometimes they attract creatures that like humidity… yikes!
  • Musty smells differ just like flower scents. I like loamy dirt and after-rain smells, but cool nights cause the warm swamp to “breathe” –  blech!
  • Perspiration doesn’t have a cooling effect because it doesn’t evaporate. It just rolls down your body, under your clothes. It’s like wearing a sauna but without the camaraderie.
  • In the dry winter, the humidity is forgotten – until you take out the good stationery to write an old-fashioned holiday letter. Then you’ll discover that, sometime during the summer, the humidity glued the envelopes shut.

 

