One step further: the media fast

Dear reader,

You may be surprised to see that I’ve published a post every single day. Actually, I didn’t. I wrote and scheduled them this past weekend.

I’m a firm believer that scheduling things is better than making a To Do list. This past week, I scheduled writing time to work on my rough draft. I set my weekend wordcount goal at 2,000 words.

On Sunday I reached it. It sounded like a huge goal, but I realized it’s just a drop in the bucket. To put it in perspective, a participant in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) aims for 1,613 words a day. The average novel is 70,000 to 100,000 words.

At my current pace, I’ll still be working on my rough draft in 2017!

So I started fiddling with a writing schedule that also includes time for other important things. You know, like the Factory and the garden (it’s spring here, and weeds need a-killing). But I kept going over by several hours.

Unable to add four hours to my week, I decided to crank out some blog posts. Along the way, I recalled Julia Cameron’s reading deprivation technique to stimulate creativity. That led me to remember her recommendation of a complete moratorium on media outside work-related necessities. So that’s what I’m doing.

Here’s a little background on what constitutes a Media Fast from Zen Habits blogger Leo Babauta. It also illustrates why I could free a lot of time by not reading blogs, newsfeeds, daily news round-ups, wikipedia, and the 80+ status updates that arrive daily. (Imagine if I still had a Twitter account! Phew!)

I’ll be checking back in next week.

Con muchos besos,

Jean

