Me, the Future Patron Saint of Jerks

I actually considered calling this blog “Future Patron Saint of Jerks” except I was afraid that someone might stumble on it and

  • a) think there’s an actual patron saint of jerks, or
  • b) call me out on the fact that I’m not a saint, merely a jerk.**

However, it’s an apt title. Like most people, I’d like to think that I’m a good person. If we define “good person” as someone who doesn’t go out of her way to hurt anyone, then I’m good. You won’t see me rob the elderly or burn boxes of kittens!

Using the more common definition of “good person” – someone who donates to charity and speaks cheerfully to strangers – I’m good. And if I compare myself to the worst of my neighbors, I might convince myself that I’m downright saintly.

But the common definition isn’t the true definition. Yet there’s mercy. Lent has come again, with its call to repentance.

Rend your hearts, not your garments,

and return to the LORD, your God,

For he is gracious and merciful,

slow to anger, abounding in steadfast love,

and relenting in punishment.

– Joel 2:13

I think of the times I’m crabby or impatient or unthinkingly callous. An inconsequential, stupid person whom others (justly) hold in contempt – that’s a jerk. And that’s me, all too often.

**And from what many would consider a jerkwater town.

4 thoughts on “Me, the Future Patron Saint of Jerks

  1. Jeannette, I belive we could all take the opportunity to be less of jerks and more compassionate. A blessed Lenten season to you.

  2. Liz loves that you’re flying your “J-freak flag.” She’s in process of keeping kosher and getting push-back from her family. Funnily enough, I don’t mind at all and I’m supposed to be the naysayer against religious traditions. Then again, she won me over with home-cooking.

    • Please tell Liz that I’m offended to the core. No, not really!

      I feel for her. I know that being Jewish is like a mere ethnicity to some people, but don’t understand the whole idea of self-identifying with a religion and raising your children with those religious traditions, then being upset when your children grow to live those beliefs. If your children don’t care one way or another, you might end up with your grandchildren having a Catholic godmother or something. 🙂

Comments are closed.