Word of the week: Lent

One of the Ninnyhammers heard that I’m celebrating Lent. She’s not really familiar with Christian customs (how I got a Jewish goddaughter is a story for another time). Instead of Wikipedia-ing it or having me explain it, she likes to hypothesis a bit.

“Is it called ‘Lent’ because you’re borrowing something?”

I laughed. “No. I’m not really borrowing anything.”

“It’s forty days, so maybe you’re borrowing time.”

“Well, some people say we live on borrowed time, but that’s not just forty days.”

As much as I like the idea of borrowing 40 days from the Lord (or perhaps paying Him back a mere 40 days for the rest of the year), I had to look it up. Lent is from the Old English word “lencten” which means “spring.”

Other Blogs on the This Topic

Lent 2014 (a gratitude journal)

Forty Days of SNAP (The Hermans spent Lent 2013 on a food budget set by SNAP aka foodstamps. I initially thought it was a cakewalk to feed a family of four on the budget until I saw the cost of food in California; e.g. over $7 for a bag of name-brand crackers and about $5 for a 2-lb bag of potatoes. Yikes!)

4 thoughts on “Word of the week: Lent

  1. That’s our Nan, inquisitive and talkative. I know “happy Lent” isn’t quite the thing to say, but I do I hope you get something out of it.

    Food prices in California are shockingly high if you think about it being one of the biggest producers of food in the US. However, it’s relative to average income and general cost of living. I recall when you and Liz discussed the cost of food and housing in DC, and you joked that you’d starve to death on your salary. Liz could live like a queen in your city, but I imagine no district would pay her what would seem to them an extravagant sum.

    • Jeannette, BB and I miss the warm weather in California, but not the cost. Your house is the size of ours in Orange County, but we we rented.

  2. Pingback: Budgeting as a Lenten practice? | The House of Nonsense

  3. Pingback: ARTICLE: LENT | euzicasa

Comments are closed.