Desiring Less

There are two ways to get enough. One is to continue to accumulate more and more. The other is to desire less. – GK Chesterton

Learning to want less is a slow process. For me, there were moments of epiphany – like when I moved into this House of Nonsense (aka La Casa de Tontería) and realized that if I needed anything I could just ask and friends/family would willingly give me cast-offs.

Those moments were few and far between. Mostly it’s been a natural maturation, like physical growth.  I remember when I was a kid and Mom would make us kids try on last-summer’s shorts and swimsuits. Suddenly, after a winter of obliviousness, we realized how much we’d grown.

In my twenties I realized that Fashion was a sucker’s game. I still went shopping with my friend/roommate/accomplice M’e, but I left the merry-go-round of following trends. Now I shop as needed (but still welcome select hand-me-overs from M’e the Fashionista). I don’t desire much of anything.

I cancelled cable when I realized the only shows I watched were HNIC, decorating/gardening programs, and news – all of which I could get with an antennae. Then the VHS player died, which meant farewell to shows broadcast during work or class hours.  I felt the loss for a few weeks, but soon I lost my desire to flip on the TV when I was home.

