One out, one in

In my free time, I’m part of a support group for recovering hoarders. Although not a hoarder, I’ve learned about my own relationship to “stuff.”  The “one in, one out” rule helps recovering hoarders stem the tide of acquisition and learn to let go of surplus. Gradually they learn a new way of thinking:  One out, then one in.

It’s a good rule for everyday living, too.  People have to consider parting with one thing to make room for something else.

This past weekend, I  decided to look for new trousers despite the hassle of building my wardrobe in the first place. I wear everything, but some items are the last to leave the closet: the baggy sweater,  the slightly-too-short trousers, and the what-was-I-thinking blouse.  Into the donation bag they went.

I dropped the bag off on my way to pick up new trousers.

Note: January  clothing sales are great for finding summer clothes. For every designer who understands the appeal of corduroy and wool, there are several who think unlined cotton-blend trousers are the perfect fit for winter in the polar vortex!

Related Video

For readers who might have a wee bit more stuff in their wardrobe, here’s Julie Morgenstern explaining the SHED process .  She wrote a very influential book,  SHED Your Stuff, Change Your Life, which helps people separate themselves from their clutter.

