2014: The Course Adjustments

My “Big Picture” goal is to live simply and fully.  That didn’t change when the clock chimed midnight on New Year’s Eve.  But it’s time to read the taffrail log (or in my case, the monthly budget reports), check the charts, and correct my course.

I planned to post these much earlier today, but the best-laid plans of mice and men and me…*

  1. I will save more for emergencies and impending catastrophes (e.g. the furnace). 
  2. I will build physical strength and endurance.
  3. I will guard my personal time from the encroachment of my career. And on a related note….
  4. I will budget my time carefully. I created a Project Time Sheet modeled on work time sheets in order to track how much time I devote to four areas: Work, Writing, The Regimen (of physical exercise), and Home/Leisure.  This may sound like an unnecessary complication, but I think it will be worth the effort.  Last year I tracked my spending and discovered what enticed me to part with hard-earned money.

*Note: Tomorrow I’ll explain what happened. Right now, I’m tired and really, really cold!

